MEMORANDUM

To: Members of University Council

From: Amy Gutmann, President

Date: April 21, 2021

Subject: Report to the University Council

We announced term extensions for two of Penn's phenomenal deans, Penn GSE Dean Pam Grossman and Penn Carey Law Dean Ted Ruger. Both will now serve until June 30, 2023.

Pam's inspiring vision, inclusive style, and strategic approach over the past six-plus years have led Penn GSE to preeminence. Ted has prioritized access, opportunity, and investing in future leaders, creating new pathways to public service while recruiting and retaining transformative legal thinkers. We are very pleased to recognize their many impressive achievements, especially as Penn continues to chart our recovery from the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Penn's pandemic recovery received a big boost with the opening of our Penn Cares Vaccine Clinic on April 14 in the Gimbel Gymnasium in Pottruck. Days later, on April 19, the entire Penn community became eligible for vaccination based on Philadelphia's updated guidelines. Those wishing to be vaccinated must use the Penn Cares online scheduling platform to make an appointment. This latest exciting step brings our Penn community that much closer to the day when we may all gather, live, and learn together in person once again.

Other important recent announcements include Penn's goal of achieving net-zero emissions within our University endowment by 2050. This is our latest addition to Penn's long-running and diverse portfolio of efforts to combat climate change and make our beautiful urban campus even more sustainable.

Penn faculty, students, and staff continue to earn high honors. To mention only a few: Immunotherapy pioneer and Penn faculty member Carl June received the \$1 million Sanford Lorraine Cross Award for his groundbreaking work in CAR T therapy. Penn Senior Sakshi Sehgal received a prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship. And we celebrate and commend the 2021 President's Engagement and Innovation Prize winners. Hat's off to:

President's Engagement Prize recipients: Elizabeth Carson Eckhard, Natalia Rommen, and Sarah Simon; Martin Leet and Leah Voytovich; and Christina Miranda and Amanda Moreno.

President's Innovation Prize recipients: Aris Saxena and Yiwen Li; and Anthony Scarpone-Lambert.

As Penn nears the conclusion of an extraordinary and challenging academic year, I am so proud of and grateful for the work of this Council, your leadership, and your inspiring engagement. Thank you.

PROVOST'S STATUS REPORT

University Council - April 2021

I want once again, as we near the end of the semester, to thank every member of the Penn community who has helped us to sustain our historic mission through the challenges of the past year. We are hoping for better days ahead, yet we could not have reached this point without the extraordinary work of our faculty, staff, postdocs, and students, individually and collectively.

I hope that all of you plan to join us at our <u>virtual Commencement</u> on May 17 to celebrate the achievements of our great Class of 2021. This is also the time of year at which we honor the exceptional faculty members who make Penn such a dynamic place to learn. We will honor the teaching award winners from both this year and last year at a live online ceremony, <u>open to everyone with preregistration</u>, on April 26. This year, the Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teaching are awarded to Profs. Peter Fader (Wharton), David Meaney (SEAS), Melissa Sanchez (SAS), and Kevin Turner (SEAS) in the Non-Health Schools, and Profs. Amy Durham (SVM), Angela Ellison (PSOM), Helen Giannakopoulos (SDM), and Salimah Meghani (SON) in the Health Schools. Profs. Chenoa Flippen (SAS) and Randall Kamien (SAS) will receive the Provost's Awards for Distinguished PhD Teaching and Mentoring, and Profs. Keith Hamilton (PSOM) and Asuka Nakahara (Wharton) will receive this year's Provost's Awards for Teaching Excellence by Non-Standing Faculty.

In 2020, the Lindback Awards for Distinguished Teaching were awarded to Profs. Mark Devlin (SAS), Lisa Mitchell (SAS), Linh Thi Xuan Phan (SEAS), and Diana Robertson (Wharton) in the Non-Health Schools, and Profs. Autumn Fiester (PSOM), David Galligan (SVM), Joseph Libonati (SON), and Judy Shea (PSOM) in the Health Schools; the Provost's Awards for Distinguished PhD Teaching and Mentoring were awarded to Profs. Eric Bradlow (Wharton) and Annette Lareau (SAS); and the Provost's Awards for Teaching Excellence by Non-Standing Faculty were awarded to Profs. Joy Bockstein Abt (SDM) and Bill Ashmanskas (SAS).

I encourage all faculty members to consider applying to the Excellence Through Diversity Fund, which is accepting proposals until April 30. It supports projects of Penn faculty members, at any rank, that advance diversity and inclusion, including research related to diversity and inclusion, collaborations across Schools and disciplines, and projects that foster and support diversity on campus. As we near the end of the semester, Executive Vice President Craig Carnaroli and I also welcome suggestions, nominations, or applications in the current search for a new Director of Recreation and Intercollegiate Athletics. You can learn more in the official Almanac announcement about the search process and our ad hoc advisory committee.

I wish everyone a wonderful end to this unique semester, and I look forward to continuing to resume our campus life in the months ahead.

Wendell Pritchett Provost



PPSA - Penn Professional Staff Assembly

https://ppsa.upenn.edu ppsa@lists.upenn.edu

Status Report – Penn Professional Staff Assembly April 21, 2021

Each year, PPSA selects a theme. We have chosen a continuing theme that embodies the mission of PPSA: Connect @ Penn.

- Nominations are open for positions on the Penn Professional Staff Assembly (PPSA) Executive Board and University Council Committees. All monthly-paid, full-time University staff members are eligible to participate. More information is available at the PPSA website. The nomination deadline is May 12, 2021.
- The 2021-2022 election for officers will occur after PPSA's annual meeting, to be held virtually on Wednesday, May 26, 2021, at 12:00pm ET. We are honored to be joined by Erika James, Dean of the Wharton School. All staff are welcomed by registering here: PPSA Annual Meeting Registration Link.

Respectfully submitted,

Kris Forrest Nadir Sharif Patrick Walsh Chair Past Chair Chair-Elect