Home » Univ Council » Committees » Honorary Degrees 2019-2020

Committee on Honorary Degrees 2019-2020

Standing Charge from the Council Bylaws

The Committee on Honorary Degrees solicits nominations from faculty and staff members and students for honorary degrees to be awarded by the University at Commencement and at special convocations and submits a slate of nominees for action by the trustees. It may make recommendations to the president regarding Commencement speakers and the conduct of special convocations.

The Committee shall consist of eight faculty members, two graduate/professional students, and two undergraduate students.

Committee Members


  • Dan Raff


  • Lizann Rode


  • Antoine Jones


  • Mary Frances Berry
  • Eric Bradlow
  • Patricia D'Antonio
  • Nader Engheta
  • Vivian Gadsden
  • Ronald Litman

Graduate/Professional Students

  • Aalok Thakkar
  • TBD

Undergraduate Students

  • Mark Shtrakhman
  • Meghna Sreenivas


  • Kuan Evans


  • Maureen Goldsmith